William D. Collins

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL)
Division Director
William D. Collins Image

Dr. William Collins is an internationally recognized expert in climate modeling and climate change science. He is the Director of the Climate and Ecosystem Sciences Division (CESD) for the Earth and Environmental Sciences Area (EESA) at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL), a Professor in Residence in the Department of Earth and Planetary Science at the University of California and the director of the Carbon Negative Initiative at LBNL.

Dr. Collins is a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the American Physical Society (APS). Dr. Collins was awarded the DOE Secretarial Honor Award for launching DOE’s Accelerated Climate Model for Energy in 2015.

Before joining UC Berkeley and Berkeley Lab, Dr. Collins was a Senior Scientist and Chair of the Scientific Steering Committee for the DOE/NSF Community Climate System Model project at the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR).

Dr. Collins is a Coordinating Lead Author of the Sixth Assessment of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), a Lead Author of the Fifth IPCC Assessment, and a Lead and Collaborating Author of the Fourth IPCC Assessment, for which the IPCC was awarded the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize.