You are here

Our Team

  • John Katzenberger
    Executive Director

    John Katzenberger is Co­-founder and Executive Director of the Aspen Global Change Institute. His primary interests are in interdisciplinary research in the broad fields of Earth System Science and global environmental change and their application in society, particularly educational outreach. John has served as the principal investigator for numerous research and educational grants. Federal agency sponsors of his work include NASA, NOAA, NSF, USDA, EPA, and DOE. In 2014 he was elected as an American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellow “for distinguished contributions to interdisciplinary research on global environmental change and for support of researchers, educators and practitioners working to make this knowledge societally relevant.” Contact John: johnk (at) agci (dot) org.

  • James Arnott
    Associate Director

    James Arnott joined AGCI in 2008. His expertise is in the interface between science and policy; climate impacts, adaptation, and vulnerability; and low-carbon energy solutions. At AGCI, James oversees the planning of AGCI's interdisciplinary workshops and conducts both independent and collaborative research on regional climate change planning, community forestry, and energy policy and technology. In 2011, James was awarded the McCloy Fellowship in Environmental Policy. James holds a B.A. in Political Science and Economics from Principia College and is working toward a Ph.D. in Natural Resource and Environment at the University of Michigan. Contact James: jamesa (at) agci (dot) org.

  • Ellie Barber
    Communication Coordinator & Creative Director

    Ellie joined AGCI in 2015 with experience fostering creative communication between the public and scientific information. She has since developed AGCI's Science through Illustration initiative, aimed at bolstering AGCI's creative media outreach through illustration and graphic representations of science and research. Before joining AGCI, Ellie worked in the environmental education field as a naturalist, trail crew leader, and high school biology teacher. She is a Certified Interpretive Guide, and in her free time, a genre-bending cellist and vocalist. She holds a B.A. in ‘Science, Technology, and Society’ with an emphasis in environmental policy from the University of Puget Sound. Contact Ellie: ebarber (at) agci (dot) org.

  • Emily Jack-Scott
    Program Director

    Emily Jack-Scott joined AGCI in 2015 from a professional background in arboriculture, forest science, forestry, and urban greening. Her primary responsibilities include AGCI's interdisciplinary scientific workshops, Energy Project, website development, and database management. Her personal and professional passions include multi-use ecosystem management, permaculture, and environmental education. She holds a Master's in Forest Science (MFS) and a B.A. in Environmental Studies from Yale University. Contact Emily: ejs (at) agci (dot) org.

  • Elise Osenga
    Research and Education Coordinator

    Elise Osenga joined AGCI in 2013. Guided by her interests in ecosystem processes and the interface between science and public action, Elise's current projects include managing AGCI's soil moisture monitoring network, assisting with ACES's Forest Health Index, and occasional education and outreach. Elise's background includes field work, environmental education, public communication, and non-profit operations. She also writes and edits for IEEE, an Earth observations publication, and maintains a Certified Interpretive Guide standing with the National Association of Interpretation. Elise holds a B.A. in Biology and English from St. Olaf College and an M.A. in Conservation Biology from Miami University, Ohio. Contact Elise: eliseo (at) agci (dot) org.

  • Alyson Wright
    Operations Manager

    Alyson Wright joined AGCI in 2013 and serves as the Operations Manager. Alyson has experience in non-profit management, working with startups, and doing research for award winning authors and directors on projects including the history of the oil industry and the development of battery technology. Alyson graduated from Principia College with a B.A. in Political Science. Contact Alyson: awright (at) agci (dot) org.

  • Michael Munroe
    Munroe MultiMedia

    Michael Munroe, of Munroe MultiMedia, has recorded almost every AGCI scientific workshop since the very first meeting in 1990. When he is not at AGCI, he is an Educational Media Coordinator at the University of Florida. He has over 30 Years of Television and Video Production Experience. Learn more about his work at

Board of Directors

Dr. Marty Hoffert
Chairman of the Board
Professor of Physics (Emeritus)
New York University

Mr. John Katzenberger
Co-founder and Director
Aspen Global Change Institute

Dr. Ken Caldeira
Vice President
Department of Global Ecology
Carnegie Institution for Science

Mr. Michael Stranahan
Secretary and Treasurer

Dr. Rosamond L. Naylor
Director, Program on Food Security and the Environment
Prof., Department of Environmental Earth System Science
Stanford University

Advisory Board

Dr. Rick Chappell
AGCI Co-founder
Professor of Physics (Emeritus)
Vanderbilt University

Dr. Lisa Dilling
Director, Western Water Assessment
Prof., Environmental Studies
University of Colorado, Boulder

Dr. Pamela Matson
Chester Naramore Dean of the School of Earth Sciences
Richard and Roda Goldman Prof. of Environmental Studies
Stanford University

Dr. Richard C.J. Somerville
Distinguished Professor Emeritus and Research Professor
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
University of California, San Diego

Dr. Vaclav Smil, FRSC
Distinguished Professor
University of Manitoba

Dr. Donald J. Wuebbles
Harry E. Preble Endowed Professor
Department of Atmospheric Sciences
University of Illinois